Raja Rammohun Roy Library Foundation
Ministry of Culture, Government of India

RRRLF is a central autonomous organization established and fully financed by the Ministry of Culture, Government of India. RRRLF is registered under the West Bengal Societies Registration Act, 1961. It is the nodal agency of the Government of India to support public library services and systems and promote public library movement in the country commensurate with the objectives as embodied in its Memorandum of Association.

The supreme policy-making body of RRRLF is called the Foundation. It consists of 22 members nominated by the Government of India from amongst eminent educationists, librarians, administrators and senior officials. The Minister of the Department of Culture, Government of India or his nominee is the Chairman of RRRLF. Professor Brij Kishore Sharma is the present Chairman of RRRLF and Director General is the executive head and ex-officio Member-Secretary of the Foundation. The Foundation functions in each State/U.T. through a machinery called State Library Committee (SLC).

The Foundation works in close association and active cooperation with different State Govts. and Union Territory Administrations through a machinery called State Library Planning Committee (SLPC/SLC) set up in each State at the instance of the Foundation. To participate in Foundation's programmes, a State Government/U.T. is required to contribute a certain amount fixed by the Foundation.

Since 2005-06 the Foundation has also taken up the initiative to develop the District Youth Resource Centre (DYRC) in collaboration with Nehru Yuvak Kendra Sangathana, an autonomous organisation under the Ministry of Sports & Youth Affairs.


The Headquarter of RRRLF & Eastern Zonal Office at:

  Block-DD - 34 , Sector - I, Salt Lake City, Kolkata -700 064.
  Phone Nos. (033)2337-3463 & 64 / 2359-2583, Fax 91(033)2337-3465
  E-mail Address : rrrlf-wb@nic.in

It has four Zonal Offices located at

      North Eastern Zonal Office           Western Zonal Office
           District Library Guwahati Annexe Building
           Dighilipukhuri, Ambari
           Kamrup (M), Assam
           Guwahati   -   781001

           State Central Library Town Hall
           5,Bhagat Singh Marg
           Mumbai 400 023
           Phone : (022)2261 2360

       Northern Zonal Office          Southern Zonal Office
 H-1461 (Second Floor),
        Chittaranjan Park,
        New Delhi   110 019
        Phone  : (011) 26271766

            Devaneya Pavaaner
            District Central Library Building
            (LLL Building)
            735 Anna Salai ( Ground Floor )
            Chennai  600 002
            Phone  : (044)2841 1843